New laptop...

NickHouston

WaLLy's Personal Favorite Krew Member
|K3| Member
|K3| Media Team
Welp this year my school emailed me telling I need to get a mac for my major, which is graphic design.

I bought the 15 inch MacBook Pro (The $2500 one, jeez that's expensive as crap).

It's primary use will be graphic design work and other school related stuff.

Any suggestions on programs or anything else for this mac? I'm brand new to this whole mac thing, any advice or anything is appreciated.

WaLLy

Lieutenant General
|K3| Executive
Welcome to the other side! I'm jelly of your MacBook Pro! :gg:

Mac App Store:
Keynote: PowerPoint version on Windows
Numbers: Excel ^^
Pages: Word ^^
Fairly certain they're free.

You'll probably also need Adobe Dreamweaver.
I never tried Pixelmator but that may be something that may be of interest to you.

NickHouston

WaLLy's Personal Favorite Krew Member
|K3| Member
|K3| Media Team
Welcome to the other side! I'm jelly of your MacBook Pro! :gg:

Mac App Store:
Keynote: PowerPoint version on Windows
Numbers: Excel ^^
Pages: Word ^^
Fairly certain they're free.

You'll probably also need Adobe Dreamweaver.
I never tried Pixelmator but that may be something that may be of interest to you.

Pages, Numbers and Keynote all came pre-loaded.

Dreamweaver comes with the Adobe Creative Suite CS6 I bought. It's the Design and Web Premium package so it has all of the web design stuff like Dreamweaver, Photoshop and Illustrator.

Also, make no mistake. I'm still a PC guy. Now I just have both platforms. My PC is mostly for gaming anyways. This MacBook will be used for school mostly (and gaming at school :p ). Minecraft runs great btw!

I do have to say the colors are very, very nice and vivid on the MacBook screen.

SiloHunter

Condescending little prick
|K3| Moderator
IMO Inkscape is better than Illustrator. That is more of a preference than a Mac equivalent of a Windows program.

DamageINC

K3's Useless Admin
|K3| Executive