Choosing a new laptop

MikeK

Vodka supplier
|K3| Member
Hello everyone!

I'm thinking of buying a new laptop in a couple of months and Im currently trying to choose one.

I'm a complete noob in that stuff. All I know about computer stuff: I have an ASUS gaming laptop which works well but is getting older plus its way to heavy, huge and only works like 2 hours without charging so I can't really take it anywhere with me.

What I need the new one be:
Need not be a gaming laptop
12-13-14"
Thin: no more than an inch / 2,5 cm, best under 0,75 inch / 2cm
Light: no more than 1,5 kilo / 3,3 lb, best under 1-1,2 kilo / 2,5 lb
Battery working hours - 9-12
Budget: something like MacBook Air 13" 256GB or Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Ultrabook in your region

Additional question:
I most likely need it to be a windows one but if I, in the end, go with the MacBook Air, is it a good idea to install Windows 8 or 10 on it? How does it affect the battery hours and overall productivity? How does the trackpad work with Windows (how do I use the right button in particular)?

Everyone, please comment!
@Kreubs @Joonikko @stevo

Last edited:

Kreubs

|K3|Minecraft Admin
|K3| Executive
Additional question:
I most likely need it to be a windows one but if I, in the end, go with the MacBook Air, is it a good idea to install Windows 8 or 10 on it? How does it affect the battery hours and overall productivity? How does the trackpad work with Windows (how do I use the right button in particular)?
Apparently the new Retina Macbook runs Windows 10 better than it runs OSX.

How about the Asus Zenbook? Here's a review with loads of info. It's said to get about 9.5 hours of battery with use.

MikeK

Vodka supplier
|K3| Member
Apparently the new Retina Macbook runs Windows 10 better than it runs OSX.

I've heard from someone that there's a chance to install the Win 10 Beta and get if for free when it's officially out, is that true?