Any musicians about?

animal66

Second Lieutenant
Member of the Year
|K3|Super-Moderator
Right, as it was my birthday recently, the wife decided to get me an electric guitar as a present (I've always wanted to learn how to play one). Trouble is i have totally no knowledge of them or even how to play the chords.

If anyone could point me towards online help for total beginners (absolute, complete noob sort of stuff) Then it would be most appreciated.

DamageINC

K3's Useless Admin
|K3| Executive
I would recommend taking it in and getting it professionally setup so it not only sounds good, but is comfortable to play. You can talk to the tech and find out what gauge string would work best for you. I would assume 9s or 10s. You probably don't want to use the factory strings.

There is such a wealth of information online that it would be hard to steer you to one place. You can find printable chord charts all over the net. For now i would stick with the basic chords. (A-F) Since you like Rock music, you can also learn power chords, which are very simple.

I would suggest learning how to string and tune your guitar, and also how to read tablature/chord charts. If you take it in to get a setup, a tech can give you pointers on tuning/stringing, etc. There are also many tutorials (with pictures/videos) online showing how to string and tune. You can also get an electric tuner, which i would recommend. They aren't very expensive.

You probably also need a small practice amp, which a shop can help you find, along with the right kind of pick.

Focus on things like how to practice efficiently and productively, how to create a lesson plan for practicing, proper posture, holding the pick so it's comfortable, using a metronome and things like that.

You can Google many resources on how to start practicing properly, which is very important. If you start teaching your muscles improperly, they will get into some very bad habits.